Discrimination by any other name…

On the Andrew Marr how today, Harriet Harman made some controversial comments about the position of women in her country. She called for either the Deputy Leader or Leader of her party to always be a woman, citing as a reason that “men can’t be left to run things themselves.

This has caused a flurry of blogging, and I have to say, I found myself agreeing with John Prescott. Horrible I know.

Elections should be won on merit, not on gender. I understand that politics is dominated by men, but this should be overcome by encouraging young women to enter politics, not by discriminating in their favour. You’d end up with a whole lot more “female window dressing”…

I don’t know what else needs to be said, except positive discrimination is STILL discrimination. My views on sexism in some levels of elections have been well documented. In Kirkcaldy, we elected two female MSYPs, and many other constituencies did the same. Should we therefore have stipulated that their must be a 50/50 gender balance? No, of course not. Why devalue our politics but not electing the best possible candidates?

~ by Callum Leslie on August 2, 2009.

One Response to “Discrimination by any other name…”

  1. Credit you looking for details. It helped me in my responsibility

Leave a Reply

 
