“Teenage girls shouldn’t be having underage sex…

…Why? Because it’s wrong.”

The view of Glasgow South labour MP Tom Harris in this blog.

What on earth?? I mean, is this man TOTALLY ignorant?? It’s one thing to say that young girls getting pregnant is wrong, but to take it this step too far is too much. I know plenty of people in my school, as young as 12/13 who are sexually active, but I know of only one person who has actually gotten pregnant. Underage sex is NOT immoral. It’s not wrong. I will admit, that I don’t believe 12 and 13 year olds in the main are emotionally mature enough to be having sex, but it can’t be argued that “Teenage girls shouldn’t be having underage sex.” Even if the statement were “Teenagers shouldn’t be having underage sex,” I might understand slightly. Placing all the blame on girls in his situation is totally misguided. It takes two to tango as it were, and it certainly takes two to cause a pregnancy.

I would also argue that many adults of all ages get pregnant in situations that are not ideal, and many teenage mothers make very good lives for themselves and their children. I really don’t believe that many teenage girls get pregnant delibirately, but I will accept that there are always exceptions. I think Tom Harris needs to think about what he would do if his daughter got pregnant at a young age, and then maybe reconsider his stance. 

I think Caron got it on the money here.

~ by Callum Leslie on March 5, 2009.

One Response to ““Teenage girls shouldn’t be having underage sex…”

  1. […] for passing judgement on constituents who will undoubtedly need to turn for him for help. Caron and Callum remind him that the girl isn’t the only person involved in the process, while James suggests […]

Leave a Reply

 
